walnutThis is a very new thing to me.  Usually the local Ace hardware has all the stains I need.  And usually in the water based form I like to use.  But since I wanted to make a run of black walnut back scratchers (I’ll show those in the next post) I figured I’d make their stain from their own hulls too.

This is my first attempt at this so I used probably the most primitive method of extracting the tannins from the hulls that exist.

After toiling to remove the nuts from the fleshy hull I soaked the hulls and any flawed walnuts in a bucket of water for a few days. 20161123_152006

Actually I kinda forgot about them for a week or ten days but it didn’t have any detrimental effects on the outcome of the stain.

Next I simply poured the tannin rich slurry through a sieve to remove any pieces of hull or leftover walnut from the mixture.20161123_152011

I store this stuff in a gallon paint can that I purchased at the local Menards home improvement.  I’m not sure what the shelf life of this stain is but I’m certain it should last a year or so.

If you decide to try making this locate some walnut trees in your area.  I live in zone 6 and our walnuts start falling mid September.  You don’t want them to lay around to long on the ground so keep your eyes peeled.  When you take the hulls off wear rubber gloves because the juice contains tannins that will stain your hands brown for a few days.  20161123_153233

Although the stain looks very dark it will take a couple of coats to achieve a dark rich color on your wood.  Since it is water based a light sanding will be needed between coats because the water will raise the grain and make it feel a little rough.  Usually sanding between the first and second application is enough to do the trick.

Most of all have fun doing this and applying it to a gift that someone will enjoy for years to come.

Thanks for reading.  Be good.  God bless.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

