20161018_193609Every project usually starts with a variation of the words “you know what would be a good idea.”  This dog grooming table was no different.  With the oppressing Ohio Valley heat and humidity bearing down on us as we groomed our Giant Schnauzers on a patio table these words crossed the lips of my mouth with ease.  A grooming table in the basement would be nice right about now.  The AC blowing through our hair (her hair, I’m bald) instead of this sticky almost non existent breeze.  So the brain storming began.

The first consideration for this project was the size of the table top.  You see Giants are a fairly large dog.  Ours are nearly 75 pounds each and about three feet tall at the head.  Our girl Giant is fairly long for the breed so that was a consideration as well.  I scrounged around the shop looking for the quarter sheet of half-inch plywood left over from another project, found it, and settled on that being about the right size for Giant trimming.

Next I took a 2×4 and made a box frame around the edges of the plywood to help give it strength and something to attach the legs to.  The legs are simple 4×4’s cut to twenty-five inches on the chop saw and screwed in to place through the frame.  I then cut some reinforcing braces out of some scrap 2×4’s, clamped them into place and secured them to the legs for even more stability.  This may seem like a lot of reinforcing but the Giants can get rowdy so I don’t think this is overkill.

After I had the table legs secure I flipped it over and stapled the carpet onto the top.  Then it was to the drill press to punch holes into the tubes that would support the head of the dog as they are groomed.  These square tubes are steel, one eighth inch thick and four feet long.  I secured both tubes together and clamped them to the press table with C clamps.  The holes are for the bolts to secure the tubes to the table and for the eye bolt to secure the dog collars to.

Next I secured the tubes to the table using 5/16 inch by 2 inch long bolts with a nut and lock washer on each one.  I secured the eye bolt with a nut on the inside of the tube and a locking nut on the outside.  The tubes seem very secure to the table but we will see if they can stand up to the rigors of holding a tired of being groomed Giant.

Lastly I had some trim lying around from a previous project that I built for my lovely wife.  I cut it to size and secured it to the top edge of the table to give it a clean finished look.  Since this is a strictly utilitarian piece and will never leave the basement I’m not sure it will get a finish put onto it.

Not only is this table going to make summer cutting nice it will also be used in the depths of winter to groom as well.  I built this thing with about 85% out of things I already had or scrap pieces lying around.  I had to buy the steel tubes, the nuts and bolts and one two by four.  Here is a material list for this grooming table:

  • One quarter sheet of half-inch plywood
  • Two 4×4’s
  • Two 2×4’s
  • a yard of low pile carpet
  • a box of 2 and a half-inch Phillips head wood screws
  • Four 2 inch by 5/16 inch bolts
  • Four 5/16 inch nuts and 5/16 lock washers
  • Two 1/8 steel square tubes (3/4 inch square by four feet long)
  • Two 8 inch long eye bolts with two extra locking nuts
  • Staples for carpet

So now in the driving snow or the blazing inferno heat our Giants will not have to look like black bears because of the elements outside.  And I think Capone would agree that this is a good thing.

20160412_164300

Thanks for reading.

Be good.

God bless.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

