“A journey of a thousand mile begins with a single step.”   Lao Tzu

 

About four years ago I ventured into the local Sears with a purchase on my mind.  A simple scroll saw.  An entry level piece of equipment to start back down the road to a middle school wood shop class where I had caught the bug of scroll sawing years before.

The smell of sawdust and glue lingering in the air has a soothing effect on the mind.  As does running the saw itself.  The focus given to steering the work piece through the blade is Zen like in its simplicity.

The image at the top of this post is the lay out of a piano shaped door harp.  In fact this is the very door harp that chimes as we come and go in and out of our door every day.  A simple pine creation with some pins and piano wire strung on it.  Glass beads to sway and bounce off the taunt strings.  A clear finish to protect it from the elements and fingerprints.

The journey back to scrolling began with me telling my lovely wife about wanting a saw and about that first door harp I had crafted.  With her usual approving nod to go ahead and pursue this hobby that lingered in the back of my mind for so long I set out to Sears to pick up a piece of my past.

Along the way I’ve picked up a few more tools.  Some powered by motor and others powered by hand.  I’m certain I’ve created and sold enough things to pay off the investment in tools and wood that I’ve made over the years.  But this hobby isn’t all about the pocket change I may accumulate but about the satisfaction of starting and completing a piece and the look on someone’s face when they receive or gift it to someone else.

I hope this blog journey will be entertaining and informational to all who read it.  The topics will usually be about wood working or crafting of some kind but rabbit holes are meant to go down.  Nothing is off limits for writing about here.  Enjoy.

Thanks for reading.  Be good.  God bless.

 

 

